PDA

View Full Version : Power Feeder Recommendations

Jason Philip
03-28-2008, 8:36 PM
Hello Creekers. I need some advice on power feeders. I've been looking into getting a power feeder for my shaper. I have no experience at all with power feeders and really do not know what size I need. I would primarily be using it for 3/4" stile and rails and panels. I doubt that I would be moving it to any other machine, so should I just get a 1hp and be done with it or would a 1/2 hp be enough? My shaper is only a 3HP, so I won't be running any real huge cutters on it. Thanks.

Jason

William Addison
03-28-2008, 10:14 PM
Most people seem to like the 1hp best but I think it's large physically for a small shaper like a 3hp.

I have a Comatic half horse and it's fed everything I've given it with power to spare and I've run some fairly large panels with it. I suggest you get four, as opposed to three wheels, though. You can set it so that one wheel picks the stock up, one holds it in and down over the cutter, and two out feed.

Joe Jensen
03-28-2008, 11:03 PM
I bought a 1HP Maggi Steff 3 wheel. I debated between 3 and 4 wheels a long time. The 4 wheel was so huge that I ended up with a 3 wheel. After using it, I'd go with 4 wheels so I could have 2 infeed and 2 outfeed. The 1HP has never slowed or balked at all, and I would think a quality 1/2HP would be fine.

David DeCristoforo
03-28-2008, 11:23 PM