PDA

View Full Version : Exotic Woods & Deforestation

John Michaels
03-27-2008, 10:53 PM
Thought I'd get some opinions from others here at the creek on the subject of using woods like zebrawood, bubinga, sapelle, etc for furniture. I'm fairly new to woodworking and one of the first pieces of wood I bought was a piece of bubinga. I searched for info regarding deforestation and bubinga but haven't found alot of useful info on the subject. Info seems pretty sparse. What little I did find indicates the species as vulnerable. To move the subject closer to home, here in the US as a result of decades maybe even centuries of logging there is hardly any real old-growth left. Living in the pacific northwest the impact from logging on salmon and other wildlife is apparent. So to the point: Is it more responsible to buy woods like maple & cherry and shun the exotics or would that just cause more demand and impact closer to home. I think this is the start of long thread.

Ben Martin
03-27-2008, 11:06 PM
John, I am just as concerned about this issue as you and am interested on what some have to say.

But just a note, I was reading a article this weekend while at the Chicago Center for Green Technolgy. It said that the US has something like 367 billion bdft of lumber in it's forest, we cut down 6 billion per year, BUT 10 billion grows every year. So I would take that source as reliable, so I don't think there is any worry of running out of wood. BUT, the point of the article was that we still need to keep in mind about sustainable harvesting, etc. Another idea that you could look into for your area, is a company like Horigran (http://www.horiganufp.com/) they saw trees that are being cut down for disease, trimming or development. I plan on making a trip there and bringing back a nice haul.

Jim Barstow
03-27-2008, 11:20 PM