PDA

View Full Version : Which plane do I need.

C Scott McDonald
03-27-2008, 9:40 PM
Hey folks,

So I have to ask a bit of a basic question. I am learning to make cabriolet legs for a highboy. Currently just practicing with glued up popular. Anyway I need to know which plane to get to smooth the sides from the bandsaw marks. Do I need a block plane or a small bench plane, high angle low angle?? The plan is to make the highboy out of curly maple. I got a Vertais spokeshave and cleans off the saw marks fast put i cannot get a flat surface from it. It might not be used for that purpose I dont know. Like I am say I am just learning hand tools.

Any help would be great. I have been an avid woodworker for a long time but never really used a tool unless it had a cord.

Thanks,
Scott

David Tiell
03-27-2008, 10:28 PM
If you are talking about the legs, then I would think a good spokeshave with either a round bottom or a concave spokeshave. Both Lee Valley and Lie-Nielsen make concave ones, but used ones can be found cheaper. However, I must post a disclaimer. I've never used one or made a cabriole leg, so take what I say for exactly what it is, which is my opinion only.

Dave

Johnny Kleso
03-27-2008, 11:16 PM
If your making cabinets I would say you need to buy a No5 Jack or go bigger with a No6 Trying plane

The 5 1/2 is David Charlesworth's favorite and one of mine as well..

I dont believe in block planes being used as smoother..

I think if you buy a old Stanley you be off to a good start but beware you also need sharpening supplies as well...

Brian Kent
03-27-2008, 11:36 PM
I love using these little "contour planes" as Lee Valley calls them. They are tiny rosewood spokeshaves, small enough for concave surfaces. Easy to hone. Beautiful little babies that can be polished up to be silky smooth rosewood tools. All for $24.50 for two. I love 'em and recommend them.

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx?c=2&p=46321&cat=1,41182,46334

David DeCristoforo