PDA

View Full Version : Clogged Intake on Jet 650 DC - Any ideas?

James Ross
03-27-2008, 10:45 AM
As a newbie, I recently began using my Rigid Jointer. I connect a clear flexible 4 inch hose between the Jet DC and the machines. I can feed only a few feet of maple through the jointer before the intake grille clogs. The jointer shavings are long, stringy, and catch on the grille sheet metal bars. I had to loosen the hose clamp and remove the ball of shavings several times.

The obvious solution is to cut and remove the grill bars. I assume they are there to prevent large scrap from entering the impeller so I am reluctant to modify the DC. Otherwise, the DC is great.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your interest.

Alan Ross

Brian Penning
03-27-2008, 10:48 AM
I cut it. Though I have paid the price now and then.....

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f193/Bri68/Miscilaneous/IMG_2749.jpg?t=1206629272

Harley Lewis
03-27-2008, 10:57 AM
I have a Grizzly DC, and had the same problem so, like Brian, I cut out most of the grid, left enough to keep the really big stuff from getting through. If you just use the DC for machine dust collection you will be fine by removing the grid, if you clean up the floor with it you will get "cans" and other like objects in it like Brian did. Been there and done that, now I only use the shop vac to clean floors.

Peter Quinn
03-27-2008, 10:58 AM
Maple produces those fluffy shavings that just love to clog collection pipes. As photo above shows removing the cross bars on a single stage collector can get dicey and pricey. I'd invest in a garbage can preseperator, possible use Phil Thein's brillant design, or even a store bought option is pretty effective.