PDA

View Full Version : Dovetail saw options-HELP!

David Shively
03-25-2008, 8:27 PM
Alright I am going to buy a nice dovetail saw-I have had enough of my 10" crown gent saw. I was hoping to get some options from all the experts out there. I have looked at lie-nielsen, gramercy, adria, wenzloff so far-The wenzloff is out of stock and long wait so that kinda outs that one. The lie-nielsen is nice but also very common and I like being a little different. The gramercy is just too small-I have very large hands and it isn't comfortable for me-and I have no experience with the Adria. I e mailed Ed from Oakville and haven't heard back yet but I know everyone speaks highly of his saws. OH and PAX is NOT AN OPTION--I think most of you know whyhttp://www.canadianwoodworking.com/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif. So what am I missing-any other options and or opinions out there? Thanks Guys look forward to hearing what you come up with. ALSO NO JAPANESE SAWS-I don't like them and there are a lot of excellent western saw choices now.

Mark Stutz
03-25-2008, 8:37 PM
David,
If you've not held the Grammercy in your hand, don't exclude it. I too have pretty fair sized hands, and the Grammercy was love at first cut. IIRC, Joel will take it back no questions asked if you don't like it. It cuts every bit as nice as the W&S and I like it better than the Adria. If there is a drawback, it is that it is only a DT saw...too small to use for most other joinery.

Mark

Dale Osowski
03-25-2008, 9:22 PM
Have you thought about a rip Dozuki?

Jim Becker
03-25-2008, 9:55 PM
I have the Adria and have been very pleased with it. I had to learn to "start" it, but that's pretty comfortable now. It cuts like a dream...

Phillip Pattee
03-25-2008, 10:09 PM
It seems like you have named all the best of current makers. Lief Hansen at Norsewoodsmith might have a saw you would like. Your other option is to find a vintage saw. Disston, Richardson, Tyzak, etc.

David DeCristoforo
03-25-2008, 11:12 PM