PDA

View Full Version : Advice on approaching Inlay work on a gun stock .

Al Mutairi
03-25-2008, 4:01 AM
Need your advice please .

What is the best laser setting for an inlay work on a gun stock ? The gun stock has a shine on it not sure what the coating is ?

Inlay material used is mother of pearl < 1mm thick. This is my first time ever to work with mother of pearl & I am not what preparation work is needed to be done ? & what the best suitable adhesion procedure to wood ?

How to handle the laser kerf difference to have the best fit ?

I appreciate the assistance .

Regards to all,

Al Mutairi

Mike Null
03-25-2008, 5:57 AM
Al

As far as settings are concerned, they vary widely from machine to machine. In your case there is no listing of what you're working with so settings might be a stab in the dark anyway.

When I have done inlays I have found that doing the cutout in layers is preferable to doing it all at once. That seems to help get to the desired depth.

Do a search on inlays and you'll find a number of good tips.

Bruce Volden
03-25-2008, 7:20 AM
Al

I hope this is your gun! Inlay is fun and pretty but I first experimented on my guns. The shine (glossy) on the stock is quite often polyurethane and is difficult to match up when disturbed. It also has a "thickness" which affects laser depth of cut/raster. Depending on how complex of a design is going on the stock~make 2~in case you get too deep. We're only talking 1mm thickness. Also the radius of a stock can often throw things off when inlaying ie. the stock may be too high in places (don't sand it down!!!) or the inlay may end up too recessed. But it is a good challenge!:)

Bruce

Al Mutairi
03-25-2008, 7:36 AM
I forgot to mention the specs of the machine I am working with ,,,

Universal , 60 watts , 2" lens ...

Richard Rumancik
03-25-2008, 1:01 PM