PDA

View Full Version : Easter Eggs

Joe Pelonio
03-23-2008, 6:25 PM
Now that my kids are all adults, we don't have any reason to color eggs. It's kind of too late for this now, but I wonder if anyone with a rotary attachment has tried engraving a colored (real) egg to see if you can etch an image by burning through the color back to the shell, without cutting it? Seems like a fun idea to try.

Steve Eide
03-23-2008, 8:19 PM
I have a subscription to MAKE magazine which had a post where someone in Germany engraved a raw egg. There was no mention of settings, just the pictures.

Joe Pelonio
03-23-2008, 9:39 PM
I have a subscription to MAKE magazine which had a post where someone in Germany engraved a raw egg. There was no mention of settings, just the pictures.
Aha, something for next year.

Wes Bischel
03-23-2008, 10:01 PM
They are laser etching the use by dates on eggs around here. They show up well after coloring.

Wes

Jack Harper
03-23-2008, 10:18 PM
Joe,

you asked about etching without cutting. Can you actually cut and egg with a laser? If so, I wonder just how elaborate of a lattice type design you could laser. To do this, you would have to poke a hole in both ends and blow out the egg from the shell. My machine does not have a rotary available so I cannot try this.

Micheal Donnellan
03-23-2008, 10:20 PM
I dont believe in laser engraving dates on eggs. Ink pad is safer no shell strength compromise. I prefer full strength eggs where outer layers are not damaged and let bacteria molds in. You lot wash your eggs as well over there, they dont here and they last longer.

I have done some cutting and etching on eggs, will try to post some photos if I can get the camera to cooperate with me.(its on strike)

Jerry Hay
03-24-2008, 6:36 PM
A friend of mine sent me some photos of eggs done on a laser.
I have not tried it yet but it looks interesting.

James Stokes
03-24-2008, 6:52 PM
I have seen those before, I think they were actually done with a dremal tool.