PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with acrylic pen

Travis Teichmann
03-21-2008, 11:08 PM
Hello to my fellow turners! I hope you have a great Easter weekend planned. I have a couple of questions since I'm a newbie to turning wood. BTW, this slope is extremely slippery and fun.:D

1. When turning acrylic pens (Woodcraft Slimline is all I tried so far) I have had some problems with the brass tube showing thru in numerous spots on a couple of the pens. Am I doing something wrong or is it just a function of the color not penetrating all the way to the center of the cast blanks (store bought)? I know these spots are not thinner than the rest of the blank because we turned these on my friends metal lathe.

2. Would it be unreasonable/unsafe to use a 3 or 4 jaw 4" metal lathe chuck in the mini Steel City Lathe (just purchased and started playing with it)? I have found a few chucks on auction sites for reasonable fees, more so than a new scroll chuck and they seem to be a little more versatile. I also plan to purchase a jacobs drill chuck w/MT2.

Jon Lanier
03-21-2008, 11:22 PM
3"-4" Jaws should work fine on a mini lathe.

If the brass tube is showing through, then you need to paint your tubes a similar color or white before putting them into them your blank.

Bernie Weishapl
03-22-2008, 12:12 AM
What Jon said. Sand your tubes and paint lightly with white.

Greg Ketell
03-22-2008, 1:17 AM
Paint the tube, paint the inside of the blank after drilling it, tint the epoxy glue. Anything less and the you might get splotching. Fingernail polish works great. Some folks use spray paint sprayed into a cup and then cotton swabbed into/onto place.

GK

Ben Gastfriend
03-22-2008, 9:22 AM
I agree with them- paint the tubes.

If you are doing alot, or don't like the hassle, there are pre-painted ones availiable, for quite some dough. :(

Wayne Kuhn
03-22-2008, 11:12 AM