PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Stairmasters

Frank Snyder
03-20-2008, 7:51 PM
I'm trying to finish up my own back staircase which leads into my basement. I live in an 88 year old house, and while I've been renovating it for the past 5 years, I can't always make more room for better clearances. I pulled out the existing staircase, reframed everything (including the landing), and brought the rise and run of the steps into code.

The problem I'm faced with is how best to design and anchor the upper part of the railing for the lower section of the staircase. The upper and lower newel posts are in-line with each other, and the treads for the upper and lower stairs overlap into this vertical space. The lower outside corner of the upper staircase converges into the space where the upper part of the lower railing would need to anchor. Had I not overlapped my upper and lower stairs into the same plane occupied by the newel post, this wouldn't be an issue. However, as tight as this corridor is, in both width and height, I wanted to maintain the widest clearance I could. The upper stairs are 34" wide and the lower stairs are 32" wide. The railing was more of an afterthought, thus my conundrum.

At this point, I'm just trying to come up with viable solutions for this lower railing. I've mocked up a railing at 32" from the nose of the tread, and it breaks its angle to converge horizontally into the main newel post. This causes the railing to lose its height for two steps which would bring it out of code. Anchoring the upper part of the railing into the lower outside corner of the upper stairs wouldn't work too well either since the center line of the railing would be split in half. Snaking the railing around the outside corner and into the side of the main newel causes some problems with the spindles being in plane with the shoe rail and would also narrow an already narrow stair corridor.