PDA

View Full Version : New fence for old TS

BOB OLINGER
03-19-2008, 9:59 AM
I have a 1970's 9" Rockwell/Delta contractors table saw. It's been a great saw; obviously, passed over with new concepts. Is it possible to install a better fence (such as a Bisemeyer) to my old saw? I'm only a hobbyist or I'd consider a TS upgrade. Meanwhile, this one remains rock solid. Thanks for any help and advice.

Steve Sawyer
03-19-2008, 10:05 AM
Yes, you can, Bob. Sometimes you need to do some "fitting", but nothing major. I put a beautiful Excalibur fence on my old Craftsman contractor's saw, and it was like I had a whole new saw. I had to drill some new holes in the edge of the cast iron top and extension wings to line up with the mounting slot on the fence rails as the existing holes were either too high or too low (don't remember now which it was).

If you can, get a look at how the fence rails for the new fence mount so you're prepared for whatever minor modifications you need to do to mount them.

Mike Wilkins
03-19-2008, 3:57 PM
I have a 1964 model Rockwell/Delta Unisaw, which came with the original tube-type fence system. One of the first things I did when rehabbing this machine was to get a Unifence. Bolted up perfectly with no modifications, no extra holes to drill or anything. Have to make your own table extension for the right side, which I made out of 3/4" white melamine & edge banded.
The nice thing about the Unifence is that you can order different lengths of front rails, up to 8 feet.
Good luck and watch those fingers.

Greg Peterson
03-19-2008, 4:06 PM
I just installed the Delta T2 30" fence system on my early 70's craftsman contractor TS. Some drilling on the cast iron, but was easy. Major improvement.

BOB OLINGER
03-19-2008, 4:54 PM
Steve, Mike, & Greg,

Thanks for replies. Can you steer me to any sources for the fences?

Greg Peterson
03-19-2008, 5:41 PM
Can you steer me to any sources for the fences?

Lowes carries the Delta fence T2 30" fence. $150.