PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a great table saw extension for my router

Tim Morton
03-20-2004, 9:09 PM
First let me say i am new to thus forum and that it was recommended to me by one of your finest, John K. Miliunas. I have spent alot of time browsing and am finally able to post. It seems to be a great place to come to relax and learn, and maybe give some back if I can. Anyway, I decided today to shred my router table(great use of a sledge hammer if you ask me) project in favor of using that space for a jointer, which I am shopping for. I want to instead tack my router onto my Delta contractor saw and am looking for ideas..DIY or store bought are being considered. I would like it to be a combination DIY extension wing with a store bought fence system.

Waymon Campbell
03-20-2004, 9:15 PM
Tim - Welcome to the 'Creek. Anyone from the great state of Vermont is always welcome. Now, as for John being one of our finest............................................ ......................................your absolutely right.

Jim DeLaney
03-20-2004, 9:51 PM
My current one is mounted on the right side of my cabinet saw. It's three layers of ½" plywood laminated together with formica on all sides, and an 11" square reouter insert of 3/8" black phenolic. Works great.

If I were going commercial, it would be the Woodhaven tablesaw table - they come in 27 X 24, 30, & 36" widths, with or without a miter gauge slot. A bit pricey at around $150 for the smallest one, but they do look like a good value.

Tim Morton
03-20-2004, 9:56 PM
Jim:
with your DIY table...I am looking for a way to mount it to the existing fence.Did you use angle iron? What kind of fence are you using?

Waymon: thanks for the welcome...Vermont is a great state, as is texas..I think we both enjoy some of the nicest people in both our states...but this time of year i think I would trade with you for some warm weather!!

Dale Thompson
03-20-2004, 10:30 PM
Tim,