PDA

View Full Version : Tonsils???

mark page
03-15-2008, 11:40 AM
I'm no medical expert by no means, but aren't tonsilectomys or whatever they call removing tonsils pretty much a thing of the past? I had mine removed at maybe six or seven years old, and I think all my brothers had theirs removed too. This was in the 60's. I haven't heard of anyone having theirs removed since not too long after that time period. Well why I am asking is that I received a phone call today that one of my cousins stepdaughter had her's removed and this morning/late evening last night passed away from bleeding to death from it. She was 20 years old. There may be more complications cause I don't know everything yet but will hear more later today. I don't even know what tonsils do except give you a sore throat and swell up.

Anthony Anderson
03-15-2008, 12:09 PM
My Anatomy and Physiology professor said not to believe anyone that said a tonsilectomy was a routine procedure and there aren't any risks. Posterior to the tonsils are blood vessels that are superficial and can easily be "nicked" by a scapel, resulting in what you describe happened to your relative. I am sorry to hear of your loss. Bill

Joe Chritz
03-15-2008, 3:28 PM
The tonsils (there are more than two) are part of the immune system in a most basic sense. Its been a long time since anatomy class back when I was a medic but if I recall correctly their exact function isn't fully known.

No surgery is routine.

Sorry to hear about your loss.

Joe

Bob Rufener
03-15-2008, 4:27 PM
What a tough situation. Sorry to hear about this. I had my tonsils removed when I was about 11 years old. Up until that time, I had frequent sore throats (tonsilitis) and strep. Lots of sickness. After I had them removed, hardly a sore throat ever. None of our 3 kids had theirs removed and it seems to be a very uncommon operation. A bit of information is available here; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tonsil

John Daugherty
03-15-2008, 4:43 PM