PDA

View Full Version : Stanley 60 1/2 v.s.???

Roy Hahn
03-13-2008, 9:47 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am new to the idea of using hand planes. Not having actually acquired one yet, I was hoping someone could explain to me why the Stanley Low Angle 60-1/2 is far more popular than lets say a Stanley Low Angle 12-960 for example.

The type of woodworking I will primarily using this for is small exotic wood type projects.

Thanks in advance!

Mike Henderson
03-13-2008, 10:32 PM
I think the 12-960 is the modern version of the 60 1/2. The problem with the modern Stanley planes is that many people, including me, have reported problems with the planes. My experience was that the blade would not hold an edge. As soon as I used it after sharpening, the edge would fracture.

You could get an excellent modern Stanley and then you might get one that gives you problems. For about the same price, you should be able to purchase a used Stanley for about the same as a new 12-960. While there's a risk in purchasing a used plane, most people believe you have a higher chance of getting a good plane.

While they're much more expensive, the Lie-Nielsen or the Lee Valley low angle, adjustable mouth block planes are excellent. For about $75-$85 LN makes a small low angle plane (fixed mouth) which is excellent.

Mike

Brian Kent
03-13-2008, 10:35 PM
Welcome, Roy!

The Stanley Low Angle 12-960 looks like a modern Stanley available in a hardware store near you. The problem is that they aren't as well made as the old Stanley 60-1/2.

The recommendations you'll get here are for old Stanleys or new planes like Lie Nielsen or Lee Valley that are made as well or better than the old Stanleys.

Brian

Roy Hahn
03-13-2008, 10:58 PM
Thank you both for the good insight. Mike, you brought up the point of a fixed mouth instead of adjustable. Is an adjustable mouth really all that necessary?

James Mittlefehldt
03-13-2008, 11:06 PM