PDA

View Full Version : Underpowered lathe woes

Paul Downes
03-12-2008, 9:51 PM
I must admit to being a bit yellow with envy. I am getting tired of trying to turn bowls on an underpowered lathe. I have a question for you powermatic owners. Is the 2 hp. motor strong enough or is there an upgrade available to maybe a 5 hp. motor for powermatic lathes?

Bernie Weishapl
03-12-2008, 10:05 PM
Paul I am no expert by any stretch but I would think 2 hp would be plenty. I have 1 3/4 hp and I have never bogged it down. Just my $1.298.

Wilbur Pan
03-12-2008, 10:09 PM
What kind of lathe do you have, and are you sure that your underpowered motor is not really a reflection of needing to sharpen your tools? I fell into that trap until I really got a handle on sharpening turning tools.

Jim Underwood
03-12-2008, 10:10 PM
Paul what lathe are you using?:confused:

Two tips:

Sharp tools
Light cuts.:D

My mini Jet kinda bogs down a little when I get toward the limit of that 10" swing too... I'll have to sell a lot of turnings to afford that Robust I want.:rolleyes:

Paul Downes
03-12-2008, 10:14 PM
Interesting Bernie, I have a 2 hp. grizzly and it is rather easy to bog down. Of course I am pushing it to the limits. I've got 600 lbs. of softener salt on it right now to attempt to tame vibrations. The bowl on there right now is about 10" dia. It's just that I've picked up some material in the last week - bowl blanks that could be 20" and up and way beyond the capacity of my current machine. sigh..........Figured cherry and curly maple, and birdseye maple that don't deserve to be cut down to smaller sizes.

Ken Fitzgerald
03-12-2008, 10:40 PM
Paul.....I have the 2hp Powermatic. If you bog it down 2 things to consider....you need to sharpen your tools and lose some weight!