PDA

View Full Version : Help with Japanese Chisels

Don Dorn
03-12-2008, 9:48 PM
I'm new to this type of chisel. A friend bought one for me that is 1/8" and I love it, therefore, I intend to add to the collection. It is my understanding that you don't hollow grind them but I'm also hearing that you must do something with the ring on the handle. Is this required for all Japanese chisels? I think they are going to make great dovetail chisels but the preperation seems extensive - any advise?

Phillip Pattee
03-12-2008, 9:54 PM
Try this link for instructions on setting the hoops: http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/Merchant/merchant.mvc?Screen=NEXT&StoreCode=toolstore&nextpage=/extra/setting_hoop_guide.html

As far as sharpening goes, I am not aware of any special requirements. All I've ever done is sharpen them like all my western style chisels.

Eric Hartunian
03-12-2008, 10:00 PM
Hi, what you are referring to is setting the hops. That is where you compress the fibers of the handle, just near the end, then set the hoop on the handle, and set it in some oil (or water) for the fibers to expand, locking the hoop on. I have quite a few J. chisels, and all have arrived with the hoop set tight on the handle. If yours are tight, and not moving, then my advice is to leave it alone.
As for hollow grinding, most folks don't. You generally want to stay away from a power grinder with these, as you can quickly mess up the temper.
Let me add a comment that some might disagree with. You don't need to exercise any special zen with these tools. No need for expensive natural stones, etc. The biggest difference with these tools and their western peers is that you shouldn't use them to lever waste.
Sorry, didn't mean to be long winded.
Eric

David DeCristoforo
03-12-2008, 10:02 PM