PDA

View Full Version : Makita 2040 stationary planer vs lunchbox planers

Tyler Davis
03-12-2008, 4:47 PM
I see a Makita 2040 16" planer on Phoenix CL : http://phoenix.craigslist.org/tls/601165560.html

I'm wondering how this type of planer compares to the popular lunchbox planers (DW 735, Ridgid 1300, Delta 22-580, Makita 201).
The price would be similar, in the $400 range.

I have heard the more stationary machines leave a less than smooth surface finish. I am an amateur hobbyist, so I won't be running thousands of BF.
I guess my criteria are:
1. surface finish
2. reliability
3. noise level
then ease of knife change, adjustable speeds, etc

Any insight on these planers?

Bob Aquino
03-12-2008, 10:03 PM
I seem to recall some issues with the covering on the feed rollers getting very gummy and having to be replaced at a decent cost. I dont think the parts are as easily attained either. Never had one myself, but I looked into one quite a while ago.

J.R. Rutter
03-12-2008, 10:34 PM
The 2040 is like a lunchbox planer on steroids. Maybe Western Roller has replacement feed rollers? A friend of mine who owned a cabinetry/millwork company before he passed away said that the finish from his was excellent.

John Callahan
03-13-2008, 6:35 AM