PDA

View Full Version : I need help with engraving on glass beer mugs

Tim Morton
03-11-2008, 7:04 PM
HI,

First let me say I am a digital printer and designer by trade, but we happen to have an epilog laser engraver and I can barely use it. I can engrave wood plaques....and various plastics to make simple signs.

But I now have to engrave 51 beer mugs by the end of the week for some ski race awards. The actual engraving is very simple....just a couple of lines of text and one or two logo's. I would say the mug is a standard 12 oz glass mug with a handle on it. I do not believe I have any type of mug holder laying around....today I just cobbed together something quick to see if I could hold the glass flat and etch something. I did get an image but it looked OK, but far from "good".

Can anyone teach me how to do this in a few simple steps? I basically treated the glass as a flat object and let it cut away. I'm sure there are tricks to doing this correctly. I searched and was surprised to read about rotating carriers that I should be using?

Tom Delaney
03-11-2008, 7:17 PM
Tim - where are you in VT?

Tim Morton
03-11-2008, 7:26 PM
Tim - where are you in VT?

Okemo Mountain signshop in ludlow.....I have been reading up on this for the last half hour....seems there is this "laser rotary attachement" :) I am going to call jds tomorrow and see if they can ship me one....

why do you ask?

Scott Shepherd
03-11-2008, 7:35 PM
Tim, I'm not sure I understand what you're talking about, but if you're talking about lasering around the beer mug diameter, there is no aftermarket attachment. You'll need a rotary attachment from Epilog. I think they run about $1200.

Follow this link and scroll down to the rotary attachment comparison and there are two photos of rotary attachments. Click on it and you'll get a large photo of them.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=67576&highlight=PLS4.60

That'll spin the glass as it's lasering it, keeping everything in focus.