PDA

View Full Version : What are these planes and is it worth $150 for all of them?

James K Peterson
03-11-2008, 5:37 AM
I found this guy locally, but I haven't spoken to him yet. I think it might be worth it for all of the planes if they are in good shape, but I'm still learning (from all of you especially) I can't tell what the planes are, anyone have some guesses? (and opinion on value).

Thanks
James Peterson

Heather Thompson
03-11-2008, 6:01 AM
It is going to be real hard to get an answer to your question as your post seems to be missing some critical information.

Heather :p

James K Peterson
03-11-2008, 6:18 AM
Sorry, forgot to attach the pic :rolleyes:
That's pretty much all the info he has in the message. I have to call him to get more info, but I was hopeing for an idea first.

Thanks
James Peterson

Sam Yerardi
03-11-2008, 6:19 AM
Actually I can't tell what the planes are either ;) (Sorry - couldn't help myself)

Heather Thompson
03-11-2008, 6:20 AM
Still see no pic, might want to try that again.

Heather ;)

Sam Yerardi
03-11-2008, 6:24 AM
Jim,

They look like Stanleys, perhaps a 4, 5 and a 7? And a Stanley block plane? $150 seems a bit high to me even if they are in great shape but I only say that because I've gotten planes like these at flea markets, etc. for maybe $15 a piece, sometimes $20-30 for the larger planes. That would tend to put the overall price closer to $100 or less but it's hard to say. If you're like me, and they are all in good shape and you need them, then they're worth that to you. If they are $50-60 over-priced, that may not be a deciding factor for me because I'll spend that much just going to the next flea market, etc.

Heather Thompson
03-11-2008, 6:31 AM
Jim,