PDA

View Full Version : Wood sources NE of Atlanta GA

Roger Warford
03-08-2008, 10:47 PM
For those of you round these parts (Atlanta), where do you get your wood? Rough cut would be great. I've been to Georgia Hardwood, but was wondering if there are any other options.

Thomas Walker
03-09-2008, 12:29 AM
I haven't been there but, http://www.suwaneelumber.com/

John Thompson
03-09-2008, 1:16 AM
I've been using Suwanee Lumber since 1978, Roger. Great folks and the prices are excellent. Atlanta Hardwood in Kennesaw is another good option. A bit higher and takes a while to get in and out.. but have a few exotics Suwannee doesn't carrry. Just a few as Suwanee had about all you can handle unless you really do some hard to find exotics.

If Georgia Hardwood is the one up in Buford (I'm in Lawrenceville).. they don't have a good selection available and are way too high when I checked them out several years ago. Just my opionion of course.

Good luck...

Sarge..

Roger Warford
03-09-2008, 8:45 AM
Thanks guys. I'll checkout Suwanee Lumber. Don't make it over Kennesaw way very often, but I'll keep that in mind.

John, you are right, Georgia Hardwood is up in Buford and doesn't have a great selection. Their primary business seems to be custom cabinets and doors.

Ed Ditto
03-09-2008, 9:41 AM
Might be a little far for you to drive, but Chattanooga Hardwood Supply is awesome. 423.624.0000, at 2420 East Main Street. No affiliation--just a happy customer. It's a family-owned business with low prices, good selection, kind tape measures, and an awesome scrap pile.

Ed

Steve Mellott
03-09-2008, 12:03 PM
There are several sawmills in the Gainesville area. If you Google "sawmill gainesville" it may give you the address or directions. If not, let me know.

Steve

John Thompson
03-09-2008, 12:13 PM