PDA

View Full Version : Baltic Birch Ply in northern Boston area..

Michael Wildt
03-08-2008, 7:24 PM
Hi,

I'm new to wood working so I'm looking for places that would carry BB ply around the northern Boston area.

I just visited Woodery lumber in Lunenburg. Nice place and extremely helpful. He had BB ply 3/4 for $65 a sheet. I wouldn't mind supporting that place, but would like to know if other places are closer to the Chelmsford area.

Michael
(Wood novice)

Michael Pfau
03-08-2008, 9:04 PM
Michael, is that BB ply the 5 x 5 sheets?..I pay 45 a sheet for 5 x 5 here in western montana...and swollow hard when paying the bill!! just curious...

Anthony Whitesell
03-08-2008, 9:09 PM
I also found it for $65 a 5x5 sheet at Highland Hardwoods in Brentwood, NH. Please, post back if you find it cheaper.

Michael Wildt
03-08-2008, 9:09 PM
Hi,

Yep, it is the 5x5 sheets. He even had a 1" thick sheet, which I've never seen before. That one I didn't ask the price on, but he mentioned it was > $100.

When I visited the local Lowes, yesterday, I looked at ply and was very disappointed. It was all warped, to some degree. No idea if it was domestic stuff or imported.

Michael

Al Lupone
03-08-2008, 11:55 PM
I just checked at the Boulterplywood site in Somerville. They have the BB at $69.00 for the 5x5 sheets.
Al

Jamie Buxton
03-09-2008, 12:49 AM
Just for education...

True Baltic Birch plywood comes from Russia. The grade stamps on it are in Cyrillic. It is 5'x5'. It is most commonly 12 mm thick (1/2"), but sometimes available in 25 mm. The 12 mm flavor generally has 9 plies, and they are all birch. There are said to be several grades, which may explain the large price variations reported on web forums. For instance, my local dealers sell the 12 mm sheet for $30 or so. When BB first arrived in the US it was very good stuff. But what I see now isn't flat, and has occasional voids. I've stopped using it.