PDA

View Full Version : Tool rest recommendations

Andy Pratt
03-07-2008, 2:02 PM
I'm fairly new to turning and I'd like to get a more efficient tool rest. I have a 6" one (jet mini lathe with bed extension) and it's pretty annoying moving it over and over again to work on a spindle. That, and the more I have to move it the harder it is to stick with a certain curve or taper.

How do you guys get around this? The largest available replacement that I can find is 12", but it's got a round bar on the top instead of the tapered (almost knife edge) of the stock 6" rest. It seems that the bar would keep your actual tool support that much farther from the cutting action, which does not seem to be desireablee.

I'd like some sort of rest that goes almost the whole length of the bed, for long spindles, is there anything like this available? If not, anywhere I can get a good quality 12" or 18" rest for the jet mini?

Thanks,
Andy

David Walser
03-07-2008, 2:12 PM
Andy,

Here's a link to what some are calling the "best" tool rest available. I'm linking to it because it has a hardened steel rod at the top of the rest. The purpose of the hardened steel rod is it provides a smooth, nick resistant, surface for your tools to glide along. It's available in different sizes, from 4" to 12" and in different post lengths, but I don't know if it will fit your lathe. It's available from several vendors.

http://www.turnrobust.com/Comfort_Tool_Rests.html

curtis rosche
03-07-2008, 2:17 PM
theres a place i found that has solid tool steel tool rests sso theres no way to break it or chip it they are ony $20-40 if i can find the link ill post it they also have a tool rest that can be used with hollow form or coring tools that has a restrictor bar on top

Gordon Seto
03-07-2008, 3:09 PM