PDA

View Full Version : Drum sander

Steven Glass
03-05-2008, 6:01 PM
I am a new to woodworking and am setting up my shop. I have a grizzly hybrid table saw and a grizzly 6'' parallagram jointer. Dewalt 13'' planer and a Jet 14'' bandsaw. My next purchase is to be a drum sander. I found a steel city 16x32 for $699.00, but haven't found much feedback on this sander. Recommendations PLEASE !

Thanks in advance, Steve

Mike Spanbauer
03-05-2008, 6:05 PM
performax 22x44?

I've no experience with the steelcity tools, but they have a decent reputation.

What types of work are you envisioning doing with it?

mike

Jim Shipman
03-05-2008, 6:22 PM
I recently purchased the Performax 22-44. Works great, well built. The closed base model is a couple hundred $ cheaper than the open. I have heard good things about their 16-32. And it's not that much more than the Steel City.

http://www.woodcraft.com/family.aspx?familyid=2042&productid=811571

Just my opinion for a long term investment.

Cliff Rohrabacher
03-05-2008, 6:30 PM
If you can afford it get a wide belt.
Much better.

Peter Quinn
03-05-2008, 6:42 PM
If you can afford it get a wide belt.
Much better.

Do you think a guy with a small shop, a 13" planer, 6" Jointer, etc. just getting started needs a widebelt? Really? Maybe a 52" timesaver with programable digital height recall? Make sure to get 3PH power run to your garage first, oh and your gonna need 2800cfm of dust collection too....

I'm happy with my performax, the steel city looks like a good machine in person though I've never used it.

Cliff is right though, get a widebelt if its in the budget....:eek::eek::eek:

Bill Wyko
03-05-2008, 6:45 PM
I'd be sure to go with a sander that has a separate feed motor than the motor for the drum. I'd also go with one that has a stationary feed table height. This makes for an easy set up for an outfeed table. I use the Performax 22-44 drum sander and I love it.

Karl Brogger
03-05-2008, 8:31 PM