PDA

View Full Version : No good deed goes unpunished....

James A. Wolfe
03-05-2008, 9:35 AM
Morning all,
I may have written a check with my mouth that my a** may have to cash. Not realizing the amount of hassle that would be involved, I offered to donate a handfull of trophies and ribbons to a co-workers Cub Scout pack for their Pinewood Derby. Let me point out that

I am a hobbyist
Not in retail business
The Cub Scout pack would not be purchasing these trophies from a retailer as the cost is too high.What I have found is that JDS Industries will not sell me the items since I don't have a Tax ID. The Cub Scout pack has authorized me to purchase with their exemption number but since no tax will be collected (donation) JDS still won't sell to me. I contacted a local trophy shop and asked if I could purchase the parts through them and even offered to pay an additional premium to cover their time but the best they could offer was to sell me the products for the full price (which normally includes engraving). What's a brother to do? I'm going to have to withdraw my offer since I see no way to get it done with the money I was prepared to spend. Any ideas to help me get this done would be appreciated.

Thanx,

Jim

Vicky Orsini
03-05-2008, 9:44 AM
Jim, when do you need these trophies?

George M. Perzel
03-05-2008, 9:52 AM
Hi Jim;
About 20 different ways to skin this cat-give me a call and will give you my account number. I can't stand it when bureaucracy gets in the way of progress, especially for a worthy cause.
Best regards;
George
LaserArts
585-924-4519

George D Gabert
03-05-2008, 10:21 AM
What if you cut your own trophies out of wood. Riser of different sizes engraved with places holder, date and event name. Maybe car shape or just BSA Emblem. Mount riser to wood base plate.

We had someone make something like this for our sailing club. I can get a picture of sample when I get home tonight if you would like. Cost was like cheep using scrap wood.