PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding pole building into shop

Dave Lessley
03-04-2008, 2:50 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to the site and have just started poking around.

I'm just beginning the process of talking to contractors to rebuild my existing pole building into a dedicated woodshop. The building was home built 30 years ago by the fellow that originally settled the property.

The posts were not treated and are starting to rot from splash due to no gutters.

It has a great existing monolithic slab with the floor portion 6 inches thick. The current thought by all current contributors has been to take down the existing building and stick build a new building using the existing slab.

The demensions are 24 feet by 30 feet and I want to go with a 10 foot ceiling. It will have R21 in the walls, R30 in the ceilings, dual pane argon filled windows, 8 foot wide by 9 foot tall roll up door with I think an R6.7 rating.

I have a 200 amp electrical service at the building.
I want to add a toilet and sink.
My idea is to run windows up high to gain wall space and avoid direct southern light.

My biggest question for planning and expense right now is heat.

I would like to go with hydronic radiant heat in the floor. Which means I will need to put down an insulating barrier then the tubing and pour a I'm told 2 inch layer of concrete over the top.

My only other source would be electricity. Most likely a heat pump. Which would give me AC in the summer. My concern with forced air is it becoming a very efficient air filtration unit. I'm not sure if that is good or bad and How I would handle the filters and at what sort of a maintenance cost.

At this point other than the size 24'x30' I am not committed to anything.

Is 2 inches of concrete over an existing slab going to be sufficient for vibrating machinery? Is there an inexpensive way to filter dust from a forced air system?

What are your suggestions?

Thanks,

Eric Haycraft
03-04-2008, 3:10 PM
Hi All,