PDA

View Full Version : Lenox trimaster gullets different sizes

Ben Rafael
03-04-2008, 12:03 PM
I have a lenox trimaster that I installed on my new MM16.
I have noticed that all the gullets are of at least 6 different sizes. There
is no pattern to the gullets either.
Is this normal?
I am having trouble getting the saw to resaw smoothly, I am asking this in order to eliminate what the problem may be.
Thanks for any help.

Brad Schmid
03-04-2008, 12:14 PM
Varying gullet size is a result of the variable tooth spacing (2/3, 3/4 - assuming 1" blade). It is the design of the blade and likely not what is causing your problem unless there is truly a manufacturing flaw with the blade. Perhaps tracking, tension, alignment, etc. is more likely the cause?

BTW - there actually is a pattern to it, it's just not obvious especially if you look at just a short segment of the blade.
Cheers

Doug Shepard
03-04-2008, 5:41 PM
That blade should give you about the smoothest resaw cut that you can get on a BS.
Fence locked down square to table?
Blade tracking OK on the wheels with the teeth just hanging off the wheel edge?
Guides set just back of the gullets?
Bottom edge of board jointed square to the face against the fence?
Not enough tension? Mine's usually set a fair amount higher than the MM16 scale reading for that blade width.
Can you post pics of the cut?

Mark Singer
03-04-2008, 5:57 PM
It is a variable pitch blade. I love it!

Chris Padilla
03-04-2008, 6:37 PM
I have one as well and Doug has nailed all the fine points. With proper setup, you should get *almost* planer like finishes from resawing. It truly is an amazing BS blade!

I bet tension is your problem...crank it up and forget about what the scale on the BS says!

Mike Cutler
03-04-2008, 7:13 PM
Ben

I use the 1" Tri Master also. I don't think there is a better blade for a bandsaw, at least not a shop bandsaw.