PDA

View Full Version : What style is this table ?

Barry Bruner
03-02-2008, 8:18 PM
I found this picture and no information on it. My question is, what style is this table? I like the table very much and would like to give it a try. Has anyone seen a book or plans for this table or have any information about it. I would be very appreciative for your assistance. Sorry that the picture quality is not any better than it is. Barry Bruner

Brandon Shew
03-02-2008, 8:29 PM
I'm no furniture expert, but I can tell you that it's not Queen Anne, Mission, Art Nouveau, Chippendale, Rococo, Louis XV, Loius XVI or Modern. It has some Shaker elements to it, but it's a little more ornate than Shaker typically tends to be. Maybe one of the period experts will chime in.

David DeCristoforo
03-02-2008, 8:29 PM
"Sheraton" style, I believe.

YM

Peter Quinn
03-02-2008, 8:52 PM
Yoshikuni..I've stayed at the Sheraton and they don't have any tables like that in the rooms!:eek::eek::eek:Just kidding.

David DeCristoforo
03-02-2008, 8:54 PM
Ya...that's "contemporary Sheraton" (AKA "ersatz Sheraton").... not the same thing at all...

YM

Cody Colston
03-02-2008, 9:48 PM
I found a similar one online that is called a Waitsfield table. http://vtfurnitureworks.com/furniture/cetables/cet_waitsfield.htm

Barry Bruner
03-03-2008, 6:11 PM
The Waitsfield table that was in the attachment that Cody sent looks exactly like it. The more I look at the table the more I like it but the legs look like they are made out of 1 1/2 inch stock or less. I am not very good with a lathe, so this might get real interesting before I get done. I have a Vega duplicator, so that might help. Thanks for your help. Barry Bruner

Sam Yerardi
03-03-2008, 6:33 PM
Both tables are examples of the Sheraton style.

Barry Bruner
03-03-2008, 7:24 PM