PDA

View Full Version : turning green wood question

curtis rosche
02-29-2008, 8:59 PM
when turning green wood how dry does it have to be? i have a 16x5.5 cherry peice that when i cut it round you could feel it was wet and the meter said 20% is that to wet that itll crack?

Jim Becker
02-29-2008, 9:11 PM
When I took David Ellsworth's course a few years ago, the fresh cut poplar was giving my a shower...literally...as I cut it on the lathe. While not a "given", rough turning even really wet wood to an even thickness will generally not have a lot of cracking issues with many species. The even thickness is the key as well as how you handle controlling moisture release from there.

Joe Chritz
02-29-2008, 9:12 PM
I'm a straight novice at any turning stuff but if I understand correctly it is always a crap shoot if a green turning will dry without cracks and straight enough to clean up.

I have been doing some reading on drying with alcohol and it is supposed to help keep the movement down.

The advantages of turning green is you can just go lop off a branch and turn it, the disadvantages is you have to deal with a percentage of loss from weird drying.

Do a search on drying with DNA. Either here or google. Also for turning green wood. I started doing some reading but found so much info my eyes hurt.

Joe

Richard A. Rivera, M.D.
02-29-2008, 9:16 PM
Curtis, you can turn that Cherry now. I have turned green blanks that were part of my neighbors tree only minutes prior. If you plan to wait a while, i would highly recomend you seal the end grain of both ends of the blank to tey to prevent checking with latex or one of the many products made for that job.

if you have not turned green before, it can be a real joy...shavings...not dust. And the tools stay cooler due to the moisture of the wood. If you do not have...I would highly recommend the book "Turning Green Wood" by Michael O'Donnell.

good luck...Dr. R...

Brian Poor
02-29-2008, 10:08 PM