PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Work Sharp

Scott Kilroy
02-28-2008, 3:00 PM
I'm considering buying a work sharp, I'm just a woodworking hobbyist but I don't have a lot of free time so I'm trying to make the most of it. The question have for anyone willing to offer advice is should I get the WS3000 or will the WS2000 be good enough for me. Also should I consider something else instead?

Most of the work I do is with power tools but when I grab a plane or chisel I'd like it to be as sharp as possible.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Dave Bonde
02-28-2008, 3:12 PM
I just bought a Worksharp 3000 last week. I got the 3000 for 3 main reasons the rpm is slower than the 2000 so it generates a lot less heat while sharpening, the sharpening port is adjustable so you can microbevel and the port is 2" wide compared to 1 5/8" (my most used plane has a 2" wide blade. I have sharpened about 10 chisels and 1 plane blade, I am very pleased and it works as advertised. Dave

Brian Dormer
02-28-2008, 5:14 PM
I'd second what Dave said. WS3000. It works as advertised.

Karl Brogger
02-28-2008, 5:23 PM
I have no experiance with either. What I do use is a fine grinding wheel with a small diameter (3"), and a buffing wheel. When you hit it with a buffing wheel and get a polish on the edge it is razor sharp. Literally. I can lick my arm and shave hair off. The small diameter grinder gets you a nice concave cut.

Bryan Cowing
02-28-2008, 7:08 PM
I got one ( 3000 ) 2 weeks ago. Also picked up the leather wheel which hones to a very sharp edge in seconds. One thing you may need to get, kevlar gloves, cause if you slip with that just sharpened , super sharp chisel, it's band-aid time.:mad: Pick up extra sheets of the grit paper too! Good, easy to use tool.:D

Shane Sura
02-28-2008, 7:58 PM
I also own the worksharp 3000. I have owned it for 4 months or so. I absolutly love it and you can't possibly go wrong.

Shane

Alan Schaffter
02-28-2008, 9:25 PM