PDA

View Full Version : Wacom Pen tablets

Uma Duffy
02-28-2008, 9:23 AM
Does anyone have any experience with Wacom Intuos Pen Tablets for refining their artwork? Though not inexpensive, it looks like it might be a good investment for doing logo work or other original stuff. I've been looking at a few on auction sites as well as new ones at Wacom's site....but I haven't seen one in use or known anyone who uses it. The Cintiq line is way out of my range but the Intuos level of tablets might be just the thing...

There are lots of references to Corel Painter in Wacom's literature.....but will it work as well with Draw and Photopaint?

Doug Griffith
02-28-2008, 9:38 AM
I've been generating digital files for 20+ years and have worked with many tablets. I've found that their power is in pressure sensitivity. It adds a "3rd dimension" that you just can't get with a mouse. For example you can set both fade, brush size, and even color to pen pressure. This is the best way I've found to create fire. I have never found it useful for vector work. For logos, CAD plugins have always helped the most.

Mike Null
02-28-2008, 9:40 AM
I have one, my second, both of which came as premiums for buying a Corel upgrade from Amazon.

I do not use it often as it is not as easy to use for everyday pc use as a standard mouse. But for tedious and complex drawing tasks it is superior to the mouse and will save time. There is a learning/getting use to curve.

To use it all I have to do is plug the tablet into to the USB port. It comes with the pen and a cordless mouse.

Wil Lambert
02-28-2008, 9:43 AM