PDA

View Full Version : Planer Comparison Site

Dave Verstraete
02-27-2008, 9:51 AM
Is there a website or forum site that would compare manufacturer's specs? Just the facts! I currently have a small (lunchbox Delta 12"-older) planer and would like to upgrade. I am a hobbyist. I work in my BASEMENT ( Weight does matter! I have to get it down there! My heirs can worry about getting it out). A 15" appears to be quite heavy to get into the basement, although it is a straight shot going down there ( read that as a "Watch out! Here she comes") Is it possible to disassemble the top and bottom of a 15" to have an easier time of getting it into the basement.
I did get a PM66 and a Rikon 18" Bandsaw down there.

I might have to settle for a more current "lunchbox"??

I didn't want to hijack the current 15" planer thread.This is just the beginning of my search. If you can point me to the appropriate thread, thanks in advance

Dan Owen
02-27-2008, 10:12 AM
Dave,

I also have a basement shop and I can appreciate your concerns. On the other hand, I am fairly persistent in my goals and when I decide I want a new tool in my basement, I figure out a way.

I currently have a Rockwell Unisaw,a MM16 and a General 14" planer---alll in the 500 pound range. I have never had a problem getting things down as long as I have about 2 other friends and my trusty appliance dolly. We just take it slow and easy and never a problem. I am currently constructing a system that will get machines out of the basement via a large dolly that will move up the stairs with a come along and 2x6 guide rails. Should work pretty good when I'm done. A friend of mines dad used this same system and he was actually able to move large power tools by himself.