PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Gouge Sizing

Jon Farley
02-26-2008, 11:02 PM
I'm relatively new to turning, and have been wondering if there is any advantage to a larger bowl gouge. I have 3/8" gouge that I use in 90+ percent of my bowl turning. I've been looking at 1/2" ones in catalogs but am not really sure what that extra size would get me. The only thing I can think of off the top of my head is bein able to rough out a green bowl blank a little bit faster. Any advice?

Jon

Neal Addy
02-26-2008, 11:06 PM
Yep, the bigger the flute the larger the ribbons. Smaller is good for detail work.

I highly recommend Thompson Lathe Tools for gouges. Doug's tools are first-rate.

http://www.thompsonlathetools.com/

Keep in mind that there are different standards for measuring gouges. The American standard measures the shaft. The European makers measure the flute. Here's the measurements from a couple of my tools just to clarify:

Sorby 1/2" bowl gouge:
. Total shaft diameter - 5/8"
. Flute width (widest point) - 3/8"

Thompson 1/2" ("V") bowl gouge:
. Total shaft diameter - 1/2"
. Flute width (widest point) - 5/16"

Keep this in mind when you are gouge shopping. Again, it's just a difference in the two measurement standards.

Steve Schlumpf
02-26-2008, 11:12 PM
Jon - I have a 3/8" and 1/2" bowl gouges - with the 1/2" being used 99% of the time. The big difference is the amount of weight/mass in the tool. The bigger gouge is easier to use when roughing out a blank mainly because of the weight. I have both of mine with swept back wings and can really hog off some wood when roughing. I also find the extra weight on the 1/2" easier for me to control as it doesn't get affected by vibration as much as the little 3/8". I am actually thinking of getting a larger 3/4" gouge for roughing out. Don't need to take bigger cuts - just want the extra mass to help control the cut on uneven surfaces.