PDA

View Full Version : Share your method of storing turning tools,chucks, etc?

Ken Glass
02-26-2008, 8:08 AM
Turners,
How about some pictures of how you store your turning tools, chucks, spurs, centers, measuring tools, etc. to keep them handy when you are at the lathe. I have partially seen some of them, when you post pictures of work, but would like to see the area and method that you use to keep them controlled and convenient. I thought this would be interesting post and also give me some ideas, since I am just starting out gathering tools for my new 3520b lathe. In the past, at least, in my workshop, it has always been a work in progress to keep tools at the ready for projects, and I have changed my shop layout many times. I hope this produces some great storage ideas.....

Raymond Overman
02-26-2008, 8:32 AM
Just store them piled up on top of your table saw. It's not like you're going to need it anymore. :eek:

Sorry for the joke this early in the morning. It was the first thing that came to me and I just had to type it. I store my tools and accessories on hooks on a peg board behind my lathe. Other accessories go on shelves. I probably need a better system.

Scott Lux
02-26-2008, 9:41 AM
I just leave mine in the pile of shavings on my workbench. Of course I sweep it all up every couple of weeks. Are gouges supposed to have brown speckles? ;)

Ron Drew
02-26-2008, 11:53 AM
I have a TINY shop, so walls become storage space, and for tools, the front of my bench. My lathe sits on the bench to save space, and the dog holes are useful for holding tools I use frequently.

Ted Calver
02-26-2008, 12:34 PM
I follow Raymond's method...on the tablesaw, then if I need that, the bandsaw, then if I need that the hydraulic cart thingy with the planer on it, then....stop making fun of me Raymond!!

Raymond Overman
02-26-2008, 12:54 PM