PDA

View Full Version : What are your top 5 turning tools?

Chris Yarish
02-25-2008, 9:40 AM
I am a novice woodturner. I actually just bought my first lathe and haven't even made any sawdust with it....this is not for a lack of desire, but more for a lack of tools.
I have looked at some of the tool packages they offer, but I think with many package deals (like router bits and drill bits) you save on the overall cost, but you purchase tools you are unlikely to be using.

I will be doing a variety of projects, but think that bowls will be where I ultimately find my interest.

What are the top 5 turning tools I should try to have in my arsenal?
(I know what gouges, scrapers parting tools etc are, but recommended sizes would also be appreciated)

Chris

Barry Stratton
02-25-2008, 9:53 AM
My top 5, can't turn without them, tools are:

1) PM 3520b lathe
2) 5/8 P/N bowl gouge
3) Wolverine grinder
4) 1" Crown scraper
5) Milwaukie close quarters drill

Chris Yarish
02-25-2008, 10:02 AM
....mmmm, I was hoping to hear about the top 5 cutting tools....tools that touch the wood as you turn.
I want to begin my collection with 3 essentials to begin with, then build from there. Given my relative inexperience with turning, I would like some advice on what to spend my money on since I don't know what will be money wasted or money well spent.

Thanks

Barry Stratton
02-25-2008, 10:11 AM
....mmmm, I was hoping to hear about the top 5 cutting tools....tools that touch the wood as you turn.
I want to begin my collection with 3 essentials to begin with, then build from there. Given my relative inexperience with turning, I would like some advice on what to spend my money on since I don't know what will be money wasted or money well spent.

Thanks

Well....there's 2 in my list. Add a 3/4 skew, 1/8" parting tool, 5/8" spindle gouge, and Monster HF captive rig and that's all I use...........course I'm not any good at this yet either.

Bob Hallowell
02-25-2008, 10:25 AM