PDA

View Full Version : Quick Release Vise Recommendation

Jack Norfleet
02-23-2008, 6:29 PM
I am starting to collect the SYP I need to make a 6' long French Workbench using Christopher Schwartz's plans. I intend to install a wagon vise and a quick release face vise.

Since the Woodcraft March madness sale is coming soon, I have been looking at the Jorgensen, the Wilton, and the Woodcraft brands. Is there much difference between the brands, or is there another brand I am missing?

I am mainly looking for resistance to racking, a decent price and overall quality.

Bruce Page
02-23-2008, 8:25 PM
I put a 10" Jorgensen on my bench when I built it several years ago. I have been happy with it.

Gary Miller
02-23-2008, 9:11 PM
I have been using 2 quick release Jorgensons for over 25 years. Quite pleased. Just upgraded them by putting thick leather on the wood faces--wish I'd done that years ago.
Gary

Todd Hyman
02-23-2008, 10:16 PM
I am starting to collect the SYP I need to make a 6' long French Workbench using Christopher Schwartz's plans. I intend to install a wagon vise and a quick release face vise.

Since the Woodcraft March madness sale is coming soon, I have been looking at the Jorgensen, the Wilton, and the Woodcraft brands. Is there much difference between the brands, or is there another brand I am missing?

I am mainly looking for resistance to racking, a decent price and overall quality.

Woodcraft also carries a groz 9" quick release vise that I have and it works great.

Don Dorn
02-24-2008, 5:10 AM
Seems as though there are many good options. I picked up the 9" Jet and have been very happy with it. It has a seperate lever to activate the quick release and I've learned to really appreciate that as opposed to a friends Wilton that doesn't sport that feature.

Alex Yeilding
02-24-2008, 7:05 AM