PDA

View Full Version : Help for a Newbie - Biscuits or Pocket Screws

John Finley
02-22-2008, 11:32 AM
I am fairly new to woodworking, with only a couple of projects under my belt. My current project is a bed that I am making out of walnut. I am at the point where I need to glue up two pieces for the side rails. The final dimension of the rails will be 1 1/2" X 10" X 82". I was told that it would be best to glue up two 5" wide pieces instead of trying to use a 10" piece.

Anyway, I am at the point where I need to glue the two pieces together. I was originally planning on using biscuits, but that would require me to buy a biscuit jointer. I did a quick search and found that it may be better to use pocket screws. It was also suggested that a seam of that size could be glued and clamped without any reinforcement. I don't know which path to take. Can anyone give me some advice. Thanks, John

Peter Quadarella
02-22-2008, 11:37 AM
I probably don't understand exactly what you are doing (I don't know why anyone would want to use 2 smaller pieces instead of 1 if they had a choice), but I can tell you that if you are connecting two boards side to side to make one larger board, there is nothing stronger than a regular glue bond. Using biscuits may help line up the boards for you, but won't add to the strength. I don't see the use in pocket screws for this application.

You will find that when glueing long grain to long grain, the resulting bond is stronger than the wood around it (if you break the board, the wood will give before the glue seam).

Hubert Carle
02-22-2008, 11:38 AM
Start with the glue-up. With two boards that long and that wide you need NOTHING NOTHING extra! Except lots of clamps :D:D. The glue joint will be very strong.

As for using bisquets. (spell checker didn't like the way I spelled that) They really do not add much strength to the joint. What they excel at is making sure the boards are aligned so the glue will work.