PDA

View Full Version : 1st turning...please be gentle :)

Troy Donson
02-22-2008, 8:55 AM
Well since I am a mechanic as my "regular" job, the folks I work with kinda have their eyes glaze over when I talk about my wood working...

In a rare lucid moment, I glued up a bunch of scraps from other projects and made this "Wood Demonstrator" to show what the different woods look like and to try my hand at using my late Father-in-Law's 45 year old craftsman tube lathe... :o

Sorry about the poor quality photos, still learning digital cameras, too! Soda can is for purposes of scale.

Figured this to be a "dried flower vase" whatdya think?

Top to bottom:

Zebrawood
Chechen
Yellowheart
Tropical Walnut
Purpleheart
Makore

Tung oil and wax...

Ken Fitzgerald
02-22-2008, 8:58 AM
Very nice first turning Troy! Welcome to the Creek and the Vortex!

Tom Hamilton
02-22-2008, 9:03 AM
Troy, welcome to the Creek and to the wonderful world of turning. Your first project looks great and indicates you're off to a fine start. I'm sure turning will bring you much satisfaction.

Best regards, Tom

David Walser
02-22-2008, 9:21 AM
Troy,

That's very nice; there's no need to qualify the compliment with "for a beginner" or some such. To me, it looks more like a pencil cup than a vase. I mean, wouldn't you rather have a pencil cup on your desk than a vase? On the other hand, if you're going to give it to your wife, I'd say it's definitely a vase and a darn pretty one, too!

I note you're in Surprise, Arizona. Consider joining the local woodturning club, the Arizona Woodturners Association. We meet monthly and it's a great chance to learn more about turning. Here's a link to the club's webpage:

http://azwoodturners.org/

Steve Schlumpf
02-22-2008, 9:22 AM
Troy - Welcome to the Creek! Nice first turning - quite the wood combination you have working there! Lots of color and a nice finish! Looking forward to seeing some of your work!