PDA

View Full Version : Dust collector comparison

joe Katzenberger
02-20-2008, 7:40 PM
Hello to fellow dust makers,

I am looking for tests, reviews and your opinions on 1-1 1/2hp dust collectors, with and without the canister feature. I am a home hobbyist thus my needs are not as heavy as most of you. Having said that I made a cloud and a mess cutting and routing some MDF this past weekend and I am now a convert!

All of the units seem to be pretty much the same though some claim a 1 micron output and they will have different footprints. My main dust producer, thus far, is a Grizzly TS #G1023, which I just recently bought from a local gentleman in Columbia, SC. The equipment is in a semi-detached 2/3 garage thus air contamination into the home is not a concern as would be ceiling height as the garage ceiling is between 11 and 12 feet.
Thanks for your input
joe Katzenberger

Matt Schroeder
02-20-2008, 7:59 PM
I recently purchased a 1 HP Steel City DC. I use it in the stock configuration (1 micron upper bag, plastic lower bag). Although it works well for collecting chips from the planer and jointer with the dust hoods directing chips right into the hose, it is not up to the task of collecting dust from my Jet contractor table saw. If I had it to do over, I would spend more money for the 1.5 HP to get more airflow, and plan on having an overarm guard/dust collector to get the stuff coming off the top. Even with only 6' of hose going directly from the DC to the bottom of the saw I am left with large piles of dust in the corners of the cabinet. I have tried blocking various openings in the base with cardboard to try and direct the airflow without much improvement. Were I to try and run a second hose off of the DC to an overarm guard the situation would be even worse.

Dennis Kelly
02-20-2008, 8:01 PM
Joe,
Check the most recent issue of WOOD Magazine. There is a test done of most, if not all, 1.5-2hp dust collectors for hobby shops.

Deke

Alan Schaffter