PDA

View Full Version : New member looking for table saw advice...

Kyle Costlow
02-20-2008, 10:52 AM
Hi, I'm a college student in Indiana, I've been piecing together a work shop over the past year, and now I need to get a table saw, my budget is limited to about 500$ or less.
I've been reading for months about various saws, and I haven't really made any progress. I liked what I was reading about the Ryobi 3100, but I cant find one, and I really like the grizzly saws, but the cost+shipping is more than I can justify. Now I am looking into the Ridgid TS3650, its still a bit out of my price range, but it seems like a great saw for a good price. I'm just wondering if I really need it, I was looking through the local classifieds for a used saw and I found an old craftsman 113.298240 for 100$, it has a XR-2424 fence and I am told it is accurate and the motor is in good shape. Here are some pictures of it. (these pictures belong to the author of post 562690788 on craigslist)
http://images.craigslist.org/0101050116110103062008020418f3c568d45ff0bea5009dcc .jpghttp://images.craigslist.org/01020001030101161420080204aa2e1586bcb43d5799001876 .jpghttp://images.craigslist.org/01020901160401031020080204cb6a7265df714dae52001557 .jpg
Will this be a good choice or is it overpriced/no good? Looks a bit rusty to me, is that a big concern or can it be fixed?