PDA

View Full Version : Reaction to Walnut?

Sean Kinn
02-17-2008, 9:49 PM
I spent most of the last two days working with walnut for a silverware chest I'm making. I've never worked with walnut before, but I know I'm not allergic to walnuts. I don't know if "reaction" is the right word, but most of my finger tips appear to have purplish blotches under the skin. Almost like I have fingerpring ink on them or something. I've tried scrubbin gand it doesn't come off. The only real chemical I used to day was simple green to clean the protective grease off of a new Dewalt dado set, and I've never had a reaction to simple green in the past (at least that I noticed).

Anyone ever have anything like this happen? Like I said, I feel fine, have no rashes or any other issues. I'm still searching around the internet, but haven't found much yet.

Peter Quinn
02-17-2008, 10:03 PM
Yup...every time I touch it. Happens to me with white oak and mahagony too, though in different colors. Tried diluted bleach? Works for me sort of.

Ken Fitzgerald
02-17-2008, 10:06 PM
I haven't worked with walnut for 20+ years but I know from having an english walnut tree in my backyard.....the nut shells turn my skin almost black and it takes forever to wear off.

Larry Marley
02-17-2008, 10:10 PM
try lemon juice.

Derek Hansen
02-17-2008, 11:02 PM
Larry is right - lemon juice takes it right off.

Richard M. Wolfe
02-17-2008, 11:50 PM
It's from tannins in the wood. I get black fingertips if I work with oak several hours. I never experimented with anything to get rid of it....just let it wear off. Around here people who pick up pecans in the fall have blackened fingers from tannins in the pecan husks.....same as walnuts.

John Thompson
02-18-2008, 12:00 AM
Tannins as mentioned... and not a good idea to use walnut shaving in plant beds or dump in a compost pile. Got some toxic goodies in their also from what I hear that don't agree with plants.

Sarge..

Rich Dorffer
02-18-2008, 12:57 AM