PDA

View Full Version : Moving Tools to Hawaii? Suggestions/Tips?

M. A. Espinoza
02-17-2008, 10:34 AM
We've decided to take an opportunity to move to Hawaii for a few years. LOML has a job offer in Hilo; unfortunately we move ourselves. Its a post doctorate position so good opportunity professionally but they aren't funding the move.

I'm trying to figure out the options for moving my equipment to HI and so far have come up with:

Matson Container shipping= too much $, better off replacing tools
UPS Freight= possible option, 2 pallets/crates about $2200
Small tools through USPS= 70lb box for $50

Anyone have experience or suggestions? Never moved overseas before and I build for a living so the tools are more than a diversion.

Other option is to replace when I get there but I would be taking a pretty big loss selling and replacing all major tools. And moving without a job or customer base doesn't equal quick recovery.

Thanks for any pointers.

Jim Becker
02-17-2008, 10:58 AM
If you think that you can safely palletize your iron, that's what I would do. Your small tools could be shipped with your regular house-hold items...pack the boxes yourselves and don't mark them as tools!

If you can avoid re-buying in HI, you'll be better off. Prices, due to the...transportation...will increase your "loss" considerably.

Rick de Roque
02-17-2008, 11:00 AM
I would store the tools and just take as many hand tools as possible and work with the hand tools for the next couple years. Would not be worth it to move the power tools there, in my opinion. Could be a great opportunity to get good with hand tools.

Rick

Never mind this post. Just saw where you said you use your tools to make a living.

Rich Schneider
02-17-2008, 11:04 AM