PDA

View Full Version : Time management in the shop Hobbyests

Brian Brown
02-16-2008, 11:32 AM
This is for amateur woodworkers, part and full time. I am creating a similar thread for professionals. This may seem like a strange question, but how is your shop time divided between actually making projects for your home, family or friends and creating "for the shop projects"? I've been doing this for about 5 years now (hobby), and it seems like I spend more time making stuff like jigs, shop fixtures, shelving and storage in the shop, adjusting and remaking jigs and shop tools, etc? Each project requires a new jig or two for accuracy, and there is always something else to build to make the shop function better. Then I need to make a new storage system for the new jigs and tools blah, blah, blah, you get the idea. Last night I saw David Marks make one of the most complex jigs I've ever seen. It took more time than the actual project. I have a friend that built a shop over 30 years ago. He works in it often, but has yet to turn out a usable project. He is always building, rearranging, tweaking etc. If he ever does make something useful, it will come out of the most efficient "manufacturing plant" in the world. He says "I'll make something as soon as the shop is finished". So I am posting a poll with this thread for amateurs, who make just one, or a few copies of their projects. Feel free to add comments about your time in the shop.

I never want it to become my living. That's the fastest way I know to ruin a good hobby. I know that doing anything in the shop takes my mind away from work for a while, but I sure would like to have a greater sense of accomplishment when I am done in the shop (SWMBO would too). Let me know how you spend your time.

glenn bradley
02-16-2008, 11:37 AM