PDA

View Full Version : New turner here

Grant Davis
02-14-2008, 8:39 PM
I just thought I would step in here and introduce myself. My name is Grant Davis and I live in Columbus, Ohio. I have been doing flat work for about 35 years and have not done any turning since a HS woodworking class. At the urging of my oldest daughter and my girlfriend who often see me admiring segmented bowls, pens and the other beautiful work you guys and gals produce here, I am taking the plunge and buying a used Jet JML1014VS. I pick it up Sunday morning. Over the past week I have been burning up the internet to read all I can about turning and lathes in general. I have 3 books and 1 DVD checked out from three different libraries. I have yet to touch tool to wood and I already feel myself being pulled into what some of you call the "vortex."

I also made a stop by Woodcraft this evening and signed up for a class called Pens, Pens, Pens.

What if anything can be done to stop this madness?

Barry Elder
02-14-2008, 8:53 PM
Grant, nothing can be done! You are in the vortex!! Go Gators!!!

Steve Schlumpf
02-14-2008, 9:28 PM
Congrats on your new lathe Grant! The class you signed up for will sure help you on your way into the vortex but I would like to suggest you join a local turning club - the folks there will help cut years off the learning curve! Have fun and make sure you post some pictures of your new lathe once you get it up and running!

Bill Bolen
02-14-2008, 9:41 PM
My son took that class at WC and got a lot out of it. They had a bit of time left and their instructor showed them a few sharpening tips. Ofcourse their grinder just happened to be on sale soooo...Welcome! you will enjoy yourself here and at your new lathe. You made a good choice with the 1014vs,,,Bill...

Bernie Weishapl
02-15-2008, 12:24 AM
Congats on the new lathe and to the woodturning black hole. As Ken Fitzgerald would say take a picture of the green stuff in your wallet cause it isn't going to be there long.