PDA

View Full Version : Can you turn Hickory?

John Hixon
02-11-2008, 4:20 PM
Is this stuff too hard or just right?

Bob Hallowell
02-11-2008, 4:36 PM
Ok, I will play your silly little game can you turn hickory?

BTW turns nice greens. so rough it then finish turn it.

Bob

John Hixon
02-11-2008, 4:41 PM
Ok, I will play your silly little game can you turn hickory?

BTW turns nice greens. so rough it then finish turn it.

Bob

I'm not playing games. I am new to turning and never tried hickory. I suppose some woods are too hard, some are too soft, I don't know. Please, if I ask a question, I need a basic answer.

What do you mean, turns nice greens.

Quinn McCarthy
02-11-2008, 4:59 PM
John

I turn hickory all the time in segmented bowls. I have made some spindles from it as well. You have to make sure your tools are really sharp. Also sharpen along the way if needed.

I hope that helps you.

Quinn

Steve Busey
02-11-2008, 5:15 PM
>> What do you mean, turns nice greens.

John,

Generally, most woods turn easier when they're green, or recently cut. The dryer they are, the harder they cut. I don't think he was talking about turning salads... ;)

Hope that helps

robert hainstock
02-11-2008, 5:34 PM
any sustance can be turned. All woods can be turned. Some are harder to turn than others. Hickory will require sharp tools and patience. best of luck. :):)
Bob

John Hixon
02-11-2008, 5:35 PM
Thanks, Guys, a neighbor is having trees cut down and I might be able to run a midnight requisition on some pieces.

There is also white and red oak.

Several logs in excess of 20" in diameter that will probably be split and burned.

Glenn Hodges
02-11-2008, 6:06 PM
I have turned a good bit of hickory. Hickory is a cousin of pecan which I have turned more than a show dog can jump over. Some of the hickory has beautiful character and some it bland. This might be difficult to determine in the dark.

Ben Gastfriend
02-11-2008, 6:07 PM