PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to create a database with all corel datas?

Christian Kaplan
02-11-2008, 12:02 PM
Hi all,
I think last night at work that it is fine to create a database with all corel datas in this forum?

what do you think?

Doug Griffith
02-11-2008, 1:51 PM
Not a bad idea if you mean watt/power/speed/material/etc... I'm a database programmer and could do it quite easilly with a website front end that sits on my server. I'm curious if others think this is a good idea? A large amount of user data might mean something and be helpful.

Cheers

Uma Duffy
02-11-2008, 2:46 PM
Tell us more about what sorts of info would be included in this database....sounds like it might be another ultimate resource that we can't do without.:)

Micheal Donnellan
02-11-2008, 2:58 PM
What about converting speeds between machines
you say 100% speed 50% power for a 30W
to me that 25% Power but no idea what speed is as What is you machines speed in IPS or MMPS
A database of info for different materials would allow us a better chance to get stuff done quicker rather than having to but test files to find the power range that works.

Doug Griffith
02-11-2008, 3:18 PM
Off the top of my head, I would include fields for entering:
1) machine type
2) wattage
3) material
4) raster or engrave
5) speed
6) power
7) frequency
8) units of measure
9) protective coating on or off???
10) manufacturer???

The data would be entered by visitors. I could apply formulas to it for converting between machines, etc... I'm guessing it would evolve into something useful.

I could even make it a tool for storing settings on a customer level. I've done it before for both wire edm and mixing pantone ink systems.

Ricky Gore
02-11-2008, 4:21 PM
Sounds like a great idea to me. I am always wondering what settings to use. By the way, soap doesn't engrave very well. :)

Christian Kaplan
02-12-2008, 8:14 AM
And what about the Corel Dates. Like for glass samples, wood samples........ I mean the .cdr .