PDA

View Full Version : Black Walnut

Dan Williams
02-11-2008, 8:59 AM
I just read that you are not suposed to use White Diamond buffing compound on Black Walnut. Could someone explain why, and how to buff Black Walnut then.

I am new to turning so, if any or you have any good tips you could share about what to an what not to buff with differant woods. I would be greatful

Dan

robert hainstock
02-11-2008, 9:12 AM
Walnut is an opengrained wood. If you apply white diamond buff, it will fill the pores with white diamond. UGLY! Use sandpaper up to 600 grit or even finer before you finish. Luck! :):)
Bob

Dan Williams
02-11-2008, 10:10 AM
Walnut is an opengrained wood. If you apply white diamond buff, it will fill the pores with white diamond. UGLY! Use sandpaper up to 600 grit or even finer before you finish. Luck! :):)
Bob

Can you use the white diamond after sanding to 600 ?

Jim Becker
02-11-2008, 10:12 AM

Best to avoid it on dark, open pored woods and go right to the carnuba after the Tripoli.

Bernie Weishapl
02-11-2008, 10:30 AM
I agree with Jim. I avoid using white diamond on any dark open pored wood. I have a ugly piece that I had parted off, finished the bottom and then you guessed it used the WD buffing wheel. I put it back on the lathe with a jam chuck hoping to be able to sand it all off. Didn't work. Now I sand to 600 to 800 grit and finish.

Glenn Hodges
02-11-2008, 10:31 AM
Dan, it depends on the finish you use on the wood. If you use a lacquer sanding filler spray, and follow this with multiple light coats of lacquer you may buff it. Look in the Grizzly catalog to see the Menzerna buffing compound recomended for lacquer used on guitars. I use course and fine, and it does not eat through the lacquer as does using the tripoli to aggresively. I only recommend Grizzly because this is where I found it, I am sure you may find it elsewhere, good luck if you choose to use lacquer.

David Walser
02-11-2008, 10:55 AM

Dan,