PDA

View Full Version : Jack vs Jointer

Peter Quadarella
02-08-2008, 2:25 PM
In reading about planes (I have no experience) it seems that a lot of people use the Jack place as their primary "levelling" bench plane and then somtimes finish up with a jointer. I am trying to figure out if there is any advantage to using the Jack first other than weight. For example, if you were using wooden planes which weigh much less, would there be any advantage to starting with the Jack or could you just start with the Jointer plane?

Sam Yerardi
02-08-2008, 2:35 PM
Peter,

I use a 24" wooden jointer plane and a Stanley #5. For myself, depending on the length of the edge or surface I might start with either one. There's no hard and fast rule but if the edge is more than say twice the length of my #5 I would start with the jointer. I tend to use the jointer as a last planing process because the 24" is rather heavy. Others will have different approaches but this works for me.

Pedro Reyes
02-08-2008, 2:48 PM
As said, to each his own.

If we are talking about edge, then mostly length of edge influences.

But if we are talking face planing, as in flattening a board. I have found that for me it is not only weight, but the fact that a lot of the initial cuts are done diagonally or even cross-grained where a #7 or #8 would stick out on both edges of the board, so no advantage to using them. Also the wider cutter makes it harder to push those planes. Initial flattening is sometimes just a number of short diagonal strokes, so a jack works better for me here. Once you've shaved those high spots (cup, etc.) then you want to use a longer plane (with the grain, not edge to edge). At least that's how I mostly do it.

No better way to figure this out than trying it, after a while you can get tired of making short strokes with a heavy jointer, you not only have to start it but also stop it.

/p

Sam Yerardi
02-08-2008, 2:54 PM
Peter,