PDA

View Full Version : Oliver Lathe, Old Iron,

Ben Abate
02-08-2008, 1:16 PM
Hello Folks,

I have the opportunity to acquire a great old piece of woodworking equipment. It is an old Oliver lathe, this thing is huge. I was looking to contact Lou Sansone because Lou seems to know more about these pieces as anyone. I looked in the members list for his name to PM him but the name didn't fit the profile. It says Lou is only a member and not a contributor, I doubt that because of how much he contributes here in the way of knowledge. Are there two Lou Sansones that belong to the Creek? I was looking for the one that lives in Conn.

Anyway, if some one else could shed some light on this I would be grateful. It is a 1953 era machine and on the head casting the words Type "F" are casted in. This machine is at least 12 feet long, maybe 15 feet long. It has a factory duplicator on it and must weigh at least 3000 to 4000 lbs. I like old iron but I'm no expert. I know when I was at Lou's shop once he had one that was similar to this. But this one maybe bigger. And I think Lou's was a Yates and not an Oliver. I could be wrong about that.

thanks for any info
Ben

David G Baker
02-08-2008, 2:30 PM
Things do not exist with out pictures. I would love to see what it looks like.

Ben Abate
02-08-2008, 3:27 PM
David,

It exists in a steel mill that is going thru some changes. It hasn't been run in years but is from what I can tell still intact. It is sort of buried behind a few large shelving stantions. But it will shortly be uncovered within a few days or weeks depending on the clean up schedule. I'll see if I can get a few pictures of it. That maybe a hard thing to do, cameras are not allowed in most manufacturing industries because of giving out trade information. I discovered it setting there, everyone said they had forgot about it. I don't think anyone else has interest in it. I don't know if I do, this thing is big.

Ben

Matt Day
02-08-2008, 3:53 PM