PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Stanley #7- Is ebay good choice?

Tim Reagan
02-07-2008, 6:31 PM
I'm interested in getting a reasonable quality jointer plane. I have seen stanley 7's on ebay for 40-70 depending on condition. Is that the best place to look? If anyone looking to unload one, pm me.
thanks,
tim

Thomas Knighton
02-07-2008, 8:15 PM
Tim,

I don't know if there's a "best" place to look. eBay can save you some money if you know what to look for. My first eBay plane I thought was a heck of a steal. However, now I know why...even though I paid $1.25 for it and a pretty decent brace, I still got screwed ;)

My opinion on eBay is to look there, but also with the folks who sell vintage tools, and your local flea markets and antique stores. So far as I can tell, one day one option will be your best bet, and another one will be the best bet another day.

But I'm still a newbie, so the veterans here may have different experiences.

Tom

Mike Henderson
02-07-2008, 8:47 PM
You can certainly find a good one on eBay - I bought a type 13 on eBay and it was in great shape. Just look at the seller - if they sell planes as a business, they will know what's good and price it as such.

Also, contact Clint Jones here and see if he can help you.

Mike

Wilbur Pan
02-08-2008, 11:15 AM
I found my Stanley #7 on eBay. However, I was at a point where I was pretty comfortable with my ability to rehab/tune up a plane, and the #7 that I found had a stain on the sole that I figured would scare the collectors off, but I also knew I was taking a bit of a chance.

Brian J. Williams
02-08-2008, 3:42 PM
I've had moderate to fair results with acquiring planes off that site. Like the others' discussions above, you've got to be careful. You need to take a REAL close look at the pictures that are posted, and you need to be prepared to fettle a little (or a lot) once your new-found treasure arrives.