PDA

View Full Version : Trading DOWN: 20" Planer to 15" Planer?

Edward Garrett
02-06-2008, 8:34 PM
I currently have an almost new 20" planer (Grizzly 0454) that I bought in November....I am very satisfied with it and it works great. Nevertheless, I have been seriously considering trying to sell this 20" jointer to get a smaller 15" model to save space, and to possibly give myself an opportunity to upgrade to a (pre-installed) Shelix cutterhead on the Grizzly 15" model (either the G1021X2 or the G0453Z). I THINK this would be less expensive all around than saving-up to get a 20" Shelix cutterhead, depending on how much I can get for the 20" planer.

I have an 8" jointer, and I am planning on getting a dual drum sander (25" or 26"). I am a hobbyist woodworker, and I do msotly cabinets and furniture (desks, tables, etc.)....I work mostly with Maple and Cherry.

Any opinions/suggestions would be appreciated....and yes - feel free to call me a crazy new tool monger.

Al Willits
02-06-2008, 8:45 PM
Just wondering if your gonna save all that much room and get that much of a better surface to be worth all this?

Seems my standard bladed 15" planer makes a nice surface that needs little sanding to make smooth, your getting a drum sander, and once though should remove what little cut marks are there, least on my set up it does.

Just a thought.

Al

James Hart
02-06-2008, 8:53 PM
Ed,

I just showed your post to my wife. She thinks I'm nuts with all the stuff I cram into the garage.

After reading your post, she hugged me and smiled at me.

Thank you,

Jim

Edward Garrett
02-06-2008, 9:11 PM
Glad to be of service Jim....:D

Grant Lasson
02-06-2008, 9:39 PM
Ed,