PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Save Files?

Frank Defert
02-05-2008, 10:00 PM
Hi Everyone,

Doing a little " computer cleaning " and organizing of files and was wondering how do you save your laser files? Do you just save them to a designated folder on your hard drive, do you use a remote hard drive, do you save them to a disc, or do you use online storage?

Frank

Joe Pelonio
02-05-2008, 10:17 PM
I have a directory on the hard drive for laser jobs only.

I have sub-directories for each of my high volume regular customers, then name them by either date or their PO# if they use them. For the rest I use their name followed by a number, for example smith1 smith2 etc.

Regularly I back them up onto DVDs. I should do them once a week but often forget.

Bill Cunningham
02-06-2008, 12:02 AM
I basically do what Joe does.. I have a masterfolder called 'laserstuff' and I group everything I do with the laser under suitable sub.folder names.. I have folder that a basically dump everything into, just called 'Temp' and sort from that periodically in the the corrected folders whether it be clipart (also sub.catagorized) or jobs, or customer artwork etc..

Frank Corker
02-06-2008, 5:17 AM
I'm almost identical with Joe, certainly on one folder for each regular customer, one for all finished jobs (even if they are duplicated in the individual folder. Regular backup on DVD. I never ever throw away the file I use for the engraving, but I do have a nasty habit of forgetting to put a note in the file to say what power/speed ratio I used. Naughty boy.

Anthony Welch
02-06-2008, 10:27 AM
I also have been wondering what's best also. And thanks for the ideas. Frank, also thanks for the tip of adding speed and power to the file name. Who'd a thunk!

Brian Robison
02-06-2008, 10:31 AM
And add the page size too. I also try to remember to add the cycle time for future estimating.
I have an external hard drive I save all my Corel files on as well as Auto Cad and Pictures from